top of page
Search

The Beauty of the Mundane: My Croissant Making Experience

This past month I have become enthralled with cooking and baking. Each week I attempt to make at least one new recipe and nearly every attempt results in something equally beautiful and delicious. When this week rolled around I knew I wanted to try something more difficult and after browsing for new recipes I knew I wanted to challenge myself by making croissants. Little did I know how truly difficult and long the process was and how much work truly goes into such a mundane and common pastry.


street corner


Mind Over Matter

“That’s been one of my mantras – focus and simplicity. Simple can be harder than complex…”- Steve Jobs

Seeing Croissants is certainly not something rare, they are present in nearly every cafe and bakery; however, my mind never comprehended just how much went into making them. When reading the recipe and instructions I truly thought that making my croissants wouldn't be too difficult, that was prior to the 13 hours it took me to completely alter that midset. From waiting for the dough to chill to rolling it out into measured rectangles only to once again reform the dough became so frustrating. It was a process or repeat, destroy, repeat, destroy, that ultimately left me exhausted. It was not until that final moment before putting my rolls in the oven that I saw my unperfected croissants and began to ponder the art form that pâtissier truly is.


A Brief Reflection

After taking my croissants out of the oven I saw how worth it my whole process was and became proud of all the time I devoted to trying something new. When I reflected I thought of the countless places where croissants are accessible and how much time goes into making that one little roll. At that moment I also saw the effort of many mundane things that often times I find myself taking advantage of. I mean even right now as I type each word of my thoughts I see the beauty of the technology I use to spread my voice. Within your weak try to seek the beauty of the mundane and discover things you are truly thankful for. I hope my story allows encourages you to think or maybe even just wants you to attempt making some croissants! :)



Get Inspired


Check out the recipe I used: Sally's Baking Addiction



image_6483441%20(2)_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

to learn a little about me please click read more 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

    bottom of page